The tradition of blade making in Scarperia dates back at least five centuries. At the beginning in fact, these craftsmen provided armoury to a very vast region.
In 1538, the “Statuto dei coltellinai” (statute of the knife makers) was written in 1538 that then organised the ironworkers into a type of professional order. Until the 18th century, there were many workshops in the village of Scarperia and the production of blades for weapons (knives, arrowheads, swords) as well as for the home and work (forks, awls, bill hooks and pocket-knives) was widespread. In 1906, 46 workshops of “blade and fork makers” employing around 300 workers were registered.
Today in Scarperia only 4 companies producing blades exist. They produce a vast range of knives of all kinds including knives used for hunting and butchery, kitchen knives, cutlery with horn handles, and all types and sizes of scissors.
In an old workshop on Via Solferino (no. 19), visitors can find a reconstruction of what a workshop would look like. The Museum of Blades is also open to the public in Palazzo dei Vicari.
(
source: MUGELLOTOSCANA.IT)